Kay Raseroka Honorary Doctor of Laws

 LIASA Representative Council and the Executive Committee would like to extend its gratitude and appreciation to University of Alberta for recognizing and honoring Kay Raseroka, the First African IFLA President in this manner. We are proud of Kay’s achievement and take this opportunity to congratulate her on behalf of the entire LIS profession in South Africa.  

On 7 June 2010  Kay Raseroka will receive the title of Honorary Doctor of Laws of the University of Alberta (CANADA).

Kay Raseroka, currently University of Botswana Library Director, served as IFLA President from 2003-2005.  

In the announcement of the Honorary degrees Linda Hughes, chancellor of the University of Alberta, said: “On behalf of the university senate, it gives me great pleasure to announce an outstanding slate of leading minds and talented people whose service to society inspires our community,”

The IFLA community congratulates Kay Raseroka with this outstanding token of appreciation.

Honorary degrees have been a tradition in American higher education for three hundred years. The degrees are conferred honoris causa “for the sake of honor”. The University of Alberta distinguishes three types of awards:  Doctor of Laws, honoris causa; Doctor of Letters, honoris causa; or Doctor of Science, honoris causa. Honorary degrees are generally awarded for one of three reasons: To recognize extraordinary intellectual or artistic achievement; to honor service to the University and to the wider society; and to recognize men and women who might serve as examples to the institution’s student body. An honorary degree, it is said, honors both the grantee and the spirit of the institution

Kay Raseroka will receive the honorary degree because she “served as the first African president of the International Federation of Libraries and Institutions. She founded Botswana’s Children’s Information Trust, and she has devoted more than 35 years to promoting the importance of oral learning in indigenous communities”.

She will be one of the 12 recipients of the University of Alberta’s highest honor. At the same occasion two other librarians will receive a honorary title: both Hugh Anson-Cartwright from Canada and James Neal from the USA will also receive the title of Honorary Doctor of Laws for their outstanding contributions to the library community.

In a first reaction Kay Raseroka said:

“May I take this opportunity to express my deep appreciation and pay tribute to you all for the support you afforded me in numerous ways in the past; contributions you made, individually and collectively, such that I was empowered to serve through IFLA, the global voice of the library and information profession.

There are hundreds of colleagues to whom I owe a debt of gratitude for allowing me work with and learn from them. As members, we  debated issues through various standing committees,  always striving to be supportive of the  professional ideals  that unite us. Even when the  going was rough: we  stood on the shoulders of giants, learnt from their experience and, together took small incremental steps that hopefully  made contributions to  IFLA and were helpful to the next generation of leaders of our profession.

So, I consider  the  conferral of the Honorary Doctorate to me, as symbol for the broader IFLA community that had the courage to take a risk on a developing country candidate and assisted her to step up to the plate and serve IFLA as an Institution, to the best of her ability. “

In June 2010 Kay Raseroka will retire from the University of Botswana Library.

See for more information on the honorary degrees of the University of Alberta: http://www.uofaweb.ualberta.ca/Senate/nav02.cfm?nav02=70455&nav01=12498

World Book Day 2010

LIASA participated in World Book Day celebrations on Thursday 22 and Friday 23 April in Bloemfontein by invitation from the NLSA.

The Centre for the Book unit of the National Library of SA organised a two-day event in Bloemfontein.   A Door-to-Door campaign was held in
Botshabelo on Thursday where CFB staff distributed a total of 3000 books to schools and individuals.

A Spelling Bee Competition formed part of the formal programme on Friday 23 April where learners from local schools participated and tested their
spelling skills.   Various learners also read poetry and other pieces in which they expressed what reading means to them.

The Keynote address was delivered by the Minister of Basic Education,  the Honourable Mrs Angie Motshekga.

Ms Naomi Haasbroek made a presentation on LIASA’s “Every Child a Book” Campaign at this event.

LIASA congratulates the National Library of SA and the Centre for the Book on a very successful day where the importance of books and reading was promoted to the community.

The Library of Congress have published a new set of photos in their Flickr Commons account…

[Copenhagen, Helsingborg, Sweden] (LOC), originally uploaded by The Library of Congress.

The 169 glorious and majestic views of Norway, Sweden, and Denmark in Photochrom Travel Views are part of a much larger collection that they will be sharing on Flickr as they move from the top of the world on down. It gives a magnificent then & now perspective… Click on the image to open the album.

New National Council for Library and Information Services

The Department of Arts and Culture has announced that in accordance with the National Council for Library and Information Services Act, 2001 (No. 6 of 2001), the Minister of Arts and Culture has appointed the following persons to the new National Council for Library and Information Services (NCLIS) for the term 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2010. Sabinet would like to congratulate them with their appointments and wish them well with the important role that they will fulfil.


Prof M D R Ralebipi-Simela
Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic, Central University of Technology, Free State (Bloemfontein)

Read More