New National Council for Library and Information Services

The Department of Arts and Culture has announced that in accordance with the National Council for Library and Information Services Act, 2001 (No. 6 of 2001), the Minister of Arts and Culture has appointed the following persons to the new National Council for Library and Information Services (NCLIS) for the term 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2010. Sabinet would like to congratulate them with their appointments and wish them well with the important role that they will fulfil.


Prof M D R Ralebipi-Simela
Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic, Central University of Technology, Free State (Bloemfontein)


Ms N I Gxwati
Chief Education Specialist, Free State Dept. of Education, Bloemfontein

Mr G H Haffajee
Businessman, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban

Mr F Hendrikz
Director: Blindlib, Grahamstown

Dr M M Makhura
Development Bank of Southern Africa

Ms M M R Mathivha
Deputy Director, Office on the Status of the Disabled People, The Presidency, Pretoria

Ms S Molawa
Director, Africa Institute of South Africa, Pretoria

Prof M C Nassimbeni
Head of Dept. Information and Library Studies, University of Cape Town, Cape Town

Mr D H Schroeder
Executive Director: PASA (Publishers’ Association of SA), Cape Town

Mr P Sewdass
Regional Manager Library Services, Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, Germiston

Ms M van Wyk
Library Coordinator, Emfuleni Local Municipality, Vanderbijlpark

Ms L E Webster
Library Manager, Durban University of Technology, Durban


Dr G A Dominy
National Archivist, Dept. of Arts and Culture

Dr N Nduna-Watson
Dept. of Education, Pretoria

Mr J Tsebe
National Librarian, National Library of SA, Pretoria

Mr T Matthee
Drakenstein Municipality, Paarl & President of LIASA


Kindly contact:

Ms Joey van Zyl
Secretary: NCLIS
Dept. of Arts and Culture
Tel. (012) 441-3354
Fax: 086-529-5774